Call Us Today (732) 295-5584
Home » New Rules for those driving in NJ
December 30, 2015

New Rules for those driving in NJ

For Immediate Release

Contact: Amanda Edwards

I & E Insurance Agency   


[email protected]

(Point Pleasant NJ) December 29, 2015

Do you drive in New Jersey?

New Rules effective for 2016– Car seat Law changes

In an article from the Point Pleasant Patch- some rules  starting in 2016 that will affect NJ drivers.

Gov. Chris Christie has signed legislation which changes the way parents and caretakers must use car seats in the state of New Jersey. Those revisions went into effect in September.  New Jersey state law formerly required all children under the age of 8, weight under 80 pounds, to ride in the back seat of a vehicle in either a child safety seat or booster seat. Previously those under the age of 8, and those between the ages of 8 and 18, were only required to wear a regular safety belt.

Here’s how the revised law will work according to each age group:

Infant to age 2:

  • Car seats must remain rear-faced in the vehicle if the child is less than 30 pounds and under the age of 2. The car seat also has to have a five-point harness.

  • Once the child has exceeded the weight and age limited, the car seat can be faced forward.

Ages 2 to 4:

  • Children under the age of 4 or fewer than 40 lbs. must remain in either a rear-facing or a forward-facing car seat with a five-point harness in the back seat of a vehicle.

  • Once the child has exceeded the weight or age limited, they can switch over to a booster seat.

Ages 4 to 8:

  • Children under the age of 8 or height requirement of 57 inches tall must remain in the back of the vehicle in a booster seat.

  • Once the child has exceeded the weight and height limited they are eligible to use a regular seat belt.

Is a child allowed in the front seat?

A child can sit in the front seat of a vehicle if that vehicle does not have a back seat – such as a pick-up truck or a sports car. However, the car seat and booster seat regulations still apply (i.e. Car seats must remain rear-faced in the vehicle if the child is under 30 lbs. and under the age of 2).

  • Also, the vehicle’s passenger-side airbag must be disabled if a rear-facing car seat is strapped into the front seat of the vehicle.

What if I don’t comply with the law?

  • Those who don’t follow the new laws will face fines ranging from $50 to $75 beginning in September. Before the revisions, the fines were only $10 to $25.

For more details see

or call us at I & E Insurance Agency at 732-295-5584


I & E Insurance Agency of  Point Pleasant NJ , serves NJ by providing all forms of  Insurance and Retirement Planning solutions.

I & E is a member of the ANE Network of Independent Insurance Agencies and associated with the 

Trusted Choice® Agency   network.

Securities offered through Southeast Investments NC INC. member FINRA/SIPC- services offered through unaffiliated entities.

This web site may contain concepts that have legal, accounting and tax implications. It is not intended to provide legal, accounting or tax advice.

You may wish to consult a competent attorney, tax advisor, accountant, or your own financial advisor. EMC Insurance Agency & Financial Services LLC dba I & E Insurance Agency & Financial Services is an Independent Insurance Agency, a Member of the Trusted Choice, Independent Agents of America & PIA contact your own advisors before making any financial decision. Services offered through independent NON-AFFILIATED ENTITIES

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

©2023. All rights reserved. | Powered by Zywave Websites